Sirlaugh’s Blog

August 15, 2009

How to unsubscribe from a mailing list that doesn’t have option for cancelling subscription

Filed under: Uncategorized — sirlaugh @ 2:00 am

I am a Gmail user and back tracking over these few days, I found that some company sent me over 40 emails all of which were spam. I thought to unsubscribe from that mailing list but I found no option for canceling my subscription. I tried to mark it as spam but this too did not help. So I solved my problem by setting these messages to disappear as soon as they appear.

I created a filter and set up automatic deletion for emails coming from that email address. Here is what I did to setup this automatic deletion for such emails:

1. Login to Gmail account
2. Open one of those spam/unwanted emails
3. Click on the drop down arrow next to reply
4. Click on “Filter messages like this

filter1 How to unsubscribe from a mailing list that doesn’t have option for cancelling subscription
5. Enter search criteria if you want to enter subject and certain words that can identify these unwanted messages.
6. Click Next.
7. Check the “Delete it” box and click on “Create Filterfilter3 How to unsubscribe from a mailing list that doesn’t have option for cancelling subscription

You are all done. Now all the emails from the address you specified that meets your filter criteria will be automatically deleted as soon as they come to your email inbox.

In case you would restore the changes, you could do it by going to “Settings” -> “Filters”.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

